Solar Heat Europe’s New Board of Directors for the mandate 2021-2022

A new Board of Directors guiding Solar Heat Europe for the next two years

Outgoing President, Costas Travasaros was re-elected for a new mandate. Having been once again nominated by the Greek Solar Industry Association (EVIE/EBHE), he received an almost unanimous support from Solar Heat Europe/ESTIF members. Costas Travasaros is the CEO of Prime Laser Technology SA, a company specialised in the manufacture of solar thermal absorbers, based in Greece but exporting to several markets in Europe and other regions.

In its message to the members, the re-elected President of Solar Heat Europe referred “our sector needs to stress its relevance to decarbonization by bringing forward examples and new proposals on solar thermal interaction in smart grids, buildings or industry.” Mr. Travasaros continued: “The relevance of our sector is often overshadowed by an exaggerated focus on electrification, which seems more focused on getting more electricity demand rather than getting more decarbonized supply.

 “Solar heat is one of the main renewable solutions in Europe today, in terms of installed capacity and energy supplied. We mustn’t forget there are over 10 million solar thermal systems in Europe. Furthermore, it is produced in Europe, generating jobs and net exports. It provides excellent indicators in terms of circularity and lifecycle costs and emissions”, Mr. Travasaros added. “Solar heat cannot continue to be ignored in any serious approach to decarbonization”, he concluded.

Two of the candidates were also re-elected, as they were already part of the previous Board of Directors for 2019-2020. These were Marcel Cloosterman, representing Holland Solar and Harald Drück representing IGTE (Institute for Building Energetics, Thermotechnology and Energy Storage).

Three new Board members were elected, and they bring a vast background, as well as a diverse perspective in the strategic body, representing both the national associations and the industry categories. These are Edwige Porcheyre nominated by ENERPLAN, Guglielmo Cioni nominated by TVP Solar, and Joakim Byström nominated by Absolicon.

Besides the President, the Board of Directors includes members come from France, the Netherlands, Italy, Sweden and Germany, representing Manufaturers (2), National Solar Thermal Associations (2) and Service Providers (1).